The Possum Hits Four Digits!

1000

Yesterday, I posted my 999th book review, so it’s time to throw a little mini party to celebrate my upcoming 1000th review!  Here, have a cupcake and a party hat.

I started this blog four years ago, as a way of sharing my love for the picture books that I had loved in my childhood and in the childhoods of my kids.  But while at the library, looking for books from the list I initially put together, I kept finding more books from authors I already knew and new books from authors I’d never heard of before.  I made the ultimately very important decision to review new picture books along with the old and I am so glad I did.

I frequently use the term ‘bookshelf favorite’ and many of them (James Marshall, Sandra Boynton, Maurice Sendak, Dr. Seuss) were authors and illustrators I’ve known and loved for years but writing this blog introduced me to new and amazing artists and writers, like Oliver Jeffers, Lane Smith, Philip Stead, Marla Frazee, Patrick McDonnell and Mac Barnett.  It truly is a wonderful time to be a fan of picture books.

WordPress tells me that this blog gets around 5,000 visitors per year and if you’re one of them, I’d like to thank you for stopping by and investing your time in reading my opinions.  New books come out every week, I have a big bookshelf full of old books still to review (and a lot of great theme months planned) so if you keep coming back, it looks like I’ll still be here.  See you tomorrow for a special 1000th review!

 

What are your thoughts?

